Bognor Regis Town Council

 Bognor Regis town crest

Bognor Regis Town Council is the parish council serving the central area of the seaside resort of Bognor Regis in West Sussex, as defined by the five electoral wards of Hatherleigh, Hotham, Marine, Orchard and Pevensey.

The council is based in the Town Hall in Clarence Road, a 1929 Listed Building. The 16 elected members meet every eight weeks, and in between times in various committees which discuss and resolve matters requiring more detailed consideration.

The council elects a Mayor each year who chairs full meetings of the council and undertakes many civic duties, as the town’s first citizen. If there is a majority political party the council also elects a Leader, who takes a lead on policy issues.

The council’s functions can be broadly divided into two main areas; firstly providing local services for residents and visitors that improve the quality of life, such as floral displays, events, allotments and improved street-care services. Secondly, it tries to champion the town’s corner to other statutory providers, for example the District and County Councils and Sussex Police. It does this by commenting on planning applications, consultations or perhaps taking other authorities to task on matters of concern.

The Town Council has recently developed and adopted a Corporate Strategy which sets out its main priorities and what the Council intends to achieve and deliver for the community. Five main priorities have been identified, which are:

Build on the heritage and history of Bognor Regis in promoting business, cultural, and artistic activities and events to make Bognor Regis a great place to live, work, study and visit. Using our resources, coupled with partners, to develop artistic and cultural activities and events to create economic benefits
Work with partners to manage environmental impacts on Bognor Regis to make the Town as sustainable as possible
Work to enable residents
and community groups
to live well and enjoy and
take pride in our Town
Work to remove barriers to enterprise within the Town
Ensure that Bognor Regis is a great place to grow up in, with support for parents and young people

Corporate Strategy

The whole Corporate Strategy document can be viewed by clicking on the logo below.

Sunniest Bognor Regis logo