

BOGNOR REGIS TOWN COUNCIL

TOWN CLERK Glenna Frost, The Town Hall, Clarence Road, Bognor Regis, West Sussex PO21 1LD Telephone: 01243 867744 E-mail: <u>bognortc@bognorregis.gov.uk</u>

Dear Sir/Madam,

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEM FOR MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL OF BOGNOR REGIS

Please be advised that an additional item will be considered as detailed below at the Meeting of the Town Council of Bognor Regis to be held at the Town Hall, Bognor Regis at <u>6.30pm on MONDAY 4th NOVEMBER 2019</u>.

DATED THIS 29th DAY OF OCTOBER 2019

TOWN CLERK

THE AGENDA and BUSINESS to be TRANSACTED is:

1. To note change in political affiliation of former Liberal Democrat Councillor

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEM

BOGNOR REGIS TOWN COUNCIL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING - 4th NOVEMBER 2019

REPORT BY TOWN CLERK

FOR NOTING

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEM - TO NOTE CHANGE IN POLITICAL AFFILIATION OF FORMER LIBERAL DEMOCRAT COUNCILLOR

BACKGROUND

Notification has been received from Cllr. Wayne Smith advising that, with immediate effect, he will no longer be sitting as a Liberal Democrat Member. Instead, Cllr. Smith has advised the Town Clerk that he intends to serve as a totally Independent Councillor, grouped in with the A.N. Others for Committee place allocation.

This will have an effect on the committee proportionality. It will increase the A.N. Other seats on each Committee from 1 to 2 place and reduce the Liberal Democrat seats to 5 places rather than as it currently stands at 6.

Group	Names	Total
Liberal Democrats	John Barrett	9
	Kenton Batley	
	Inna Erskine	
	John Erskine	
	Henry Jones	
	Claire Needs	
	Samantha Staniforth	
	Matt Stanley	
	Jeanette Warr	
Independent Group	Jim Brooks	4
	Adam Cunard	
	Sandra Daniells	
	Steve Goodheart	
A.N. Others	Alison Sharples (Labour)	3
	Wayne Smith (Independent)	
	Phil Woodall (Independent)	

Committee Proportionality

Liberal Democrats Independent Group A.N. Others **Total** 5 Members per Committee

- 2 Member per Committee
- 2 Member per Committee
- 9 Members per Committee

ADDITIONAL AGENDA ITEM

The issue of committee allocations will therefore be referred to the next Council Meeting for consideration and to reflect this change. To assist Members in preparation for the next Meeting the following should be noted.

Policy and Resources Committee

One Lib Dem Member should relinquish their place on this Committee.

Either Cllr. Mrs. Sharples or Cllr. Smith may take up the 2nd A.N, Other position created by the reduction in Lib Dem Members to 5.

Community Engagement and Environment Committee

Cllr. Mrs. Sharples was already appointed to this Committee as an A.N. Other. Therefore, subject to the agreement of the other A.N. Others (Cllr. Mrs. Sharples and Cllr. Woodall), Cllr. Smith who was previously appointed to CE&E may continue to serve but as the 2nd A.N. Other Member.

Planning & Licensing Committee

Cllr. Mrs. Sharples was already appointed to this Committee as an A.N. Other. Therefore, subject to the agreement of the other A.N. Others (Cllr. Mrs Sharples and Cllr. Woodall), Cllr. Smith who was previously appointed to P&L may continue to serve but as the 2nd A.N. Other Member.

Members should note that there will continue to be 2 Lib Dem vacancies on this Committee.

Events, Promotion and Leisure Committee

Cllr. Goodheart (Ind Grp) was appointed to this Committee using the A.N. Other slot, because none of the A.N. Others wished to take the place at the Annual Council Meeting in May 2019. Therefore, subject to the agreement of the other A.N. Others (Cllr. Mrs. Sharples and Cllr. Woodall), Cllr. Smith, who was previously appointed to EP&L, may continue to serve but as the 2nd A.N. Other Member. It should be noted that should two of the A.N. Others wish to occupy the two seats allocated to the Group then Cllr. Goodheart would be required to relinquish his seat on this Committee.

FOR NOTING BY MEMBERS

Members are therefore invited to **NOTE** the change in political affiliation of CIIr Wayne Smith as a former Liberal Democrat Councillor on Bognor Regis Town Council.